#BookBingo2020 – Coming of Age

book-bingo-2020-clean copy

Today is round two of Book Bingo 2020 hosted by Theresa, Amanda and Ashleigh, and I am crossing off the Coming of Age box with A Map of Days by Ransom Riggs. I have quite enjoyed reading this series and am now onto book five, The Conference of the Birds, published just this year. A Map of Days was also the feature of my last Book Snap which you can check out here, if you like old clocks and vintage snapshots.


Jacob is back where his story began, in Florida. Except now Miss Peregrine, Emma and their peculiar friends are with him, and doing their best to blend in. But carefree days of beach visits and normalling lessons are soon interrupted by a discovery… Now the stakes are higher than ever as Jacob and his friends are thrust into the untamed landscape of American peculiardom – a world with few ymbrynes, or rules – that none of them yet understand.”

Book four of the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series continues Jacob’s story as he comes to grips with his place in the peculiar world. His peculiar friends have lived most of their life under the protection of the ymbrynes, trapped in a time loop where they never age. But now they are in the real world and the relationship between the ymbrynes and their charges, now ageing normally one day at a time, will start to be tested. Taking risks, rebelling against authority and navigating the minefield of first love are all part and parcel of that messy journey we call coming of age. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s